Eligibility for PMAY scheme -Income requirement, location and Age limit

Are you eligible for the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Housing Scheme by the Government of India? Read on to find out.

Planning to buy a house Check your eligibility for PMAY

In 2015, the Government of India launched the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY) to make inexpensive houses available to low- and middle-income groups. The aim was to ensure ‘Housing For All’ by 2022, as India completes 75 years of independence.

The flagship program proposed to construct two crore homes in 4041 statutory towns and 274 additional towns. These homes were to be constructed with eco-friendly materials, ensuring minimal damage and pollution.

Certain criteria have been put in place to ensure that people do not take unfair advantage of the initiative. Let us look at the various eligibility requirements that must be met to avail of the scheme.

Eligibility for the PMAY scheme

The PMAY scheme eligibility criteria ensure that the benefits reach the right people. Here are the various requirements.

Existing homeowners: If you or any family member owns a home, you are not eligible for the PMAY scheme. Specifically, the applicant or spouse cannot be owners of an all-weather pucca house in their name or the name of their unmarried children. The only exception to this rule is the extension or enhancement of an existing house, whether inherited or self-acquired.

Related: 7 Government Schemes To Aid Economic Development And Financial Stability That You Can Benefit From

Age limit: You can be eligible for PMAY if you are under 70 years of age at the end of the repayment period.

Family income: Income is one of the most crucial aspects of PMAY eligibility. If your household has a total income of Rs 18 lakh per annum or more, you cannot avail of the scheme. Your annual family income needs to fall under one of the following categories.

Economically Weaker Section (EWS): Families with annual income less than Rs 3 lakh are part of the EWS category.
Low Income Group (LIG): You fall under the LIG category if your household earns between Rs 3 lakh to Rs 6 lakh per annum.
Middle Income Group (MIG): MIG is further divided into two sections, MIG I and MIG II. MIG I households earn between Rs 6 lakh and Rs 12 lakh per annum, while MIG II households have an annual income between Rs 12 lakh and Rs 18 lakh per annum.

Related: All You Need To Know About The Pradhan Mantri Garib Kalyan Yojana

Previous assistance: If your family is already receiving benefits under any other housing scheme from the Government of India, you are not eligible for PMAY. Likewise, there can be no duplication of beneficiaries under the scheme. So, if you have already availed of the scheme's benefits once, you will no longer be eligible a second time.

Locational requirement: The property you plan to buy must belong to the towns, villages, or cities mentioned in the PMAY scheme.

Last words

While various attempts have been made in India to offer affordable housing for all, many Indians still consider housing a dream. With a vast and diverse country, where a large portion of the population lives in absolute poverty, providing housing for everyone is a monumental task. Still, the government has progressed in this matter. And if the schemes are being implemented following all of their guidelines, we are well on our way to eliminating homelessness.

Related: Ayushman Bharat - Pradhan Mantri Jan Arogya Yojana: What You Need To Know


Related Article

Premium Articles