Banks in India will have 14 days of holidays in July. Bank holiday list in July 2022.

The bank will experience a 14-day shut-down due to many festivals and weekends in July 2022. These holidays may vary from state to state due to different regional beliefs. However, in this article, we shall discuss the complete list of these 14 days closures of Indian banks.

Banks will remain close for 14 days in July.

Bank Holidays in July 2022

According to RBI, the other Indian shut-down for many days in July. It can be due to many festivals this month or weekend holidays. These bank holidays are per the Holiday list prescribed by the Reserve Bank of India. These banks will also not operate on Saturdays and Sundays, along with the regional festivals. 

These holidays may vary from state to state. However, from the total of 14 holidays, seven are weekend offs. Excluding the weekends, the other seven days, the bank will remain closed in specific regions. These holidays include Kharchi Puja, Eid-ul-Adha, Kang/Rath Yatra, Ker Puja, Harela, Bhanu Jayanti and Beh Dienkhlam. 

The complete list of all these holidays with their respective state is as follows:

  • 1st July 2022 (Friday): Rath Yatra/ Kang in Odisha, Manipur
  • 7th July 2022 (Thursday): Kharchi Puja in Tripura
  • 11th July 2022(Monday): Eid-ul-Adha in Jammu and Kashmir
  • 13th July 2022 (Wednesday): Bhanu Jayanti in Sikkim
  • 14th July 2022 (Thursday): Beh Dienkhlam in Meghalaya
  • 16th July 2022 (Saturday): Harela in Uttarakhand
  • 26th July 2022 (Tuesday): Ker Puja in Tripura

Weekend holidays list of Indian Banks

As mentioned earlier, the banks will have seven weekend holidays this month despite these festival holidays. Here's the complete list of these other seven days when banks will have holidays:

  • 3rd July 2022: Sunday
  • 9th July 2022: 2nd Saturday
  • 10th July 2022: Sunday
  • 17th July 2022: Sunday
  • 23rd July 2022: 4th Saturday
  • 24th July 2022: 4th Sunday
  • 31st July 2022: 5th Sunday

The RBI is responsible for creating the list of holidays for all other Indian banks. The RBI does this under four criteria: Holiday, Negotiable Instruments Act, Closing of accounts of the Banks and the Real-time Gross Settlement holidays.

To know about the analysis of the performance of the banking sector for 2022, please view this video;

Related: List of Bank Holidays, 2022


RBI declares 14-day holidays for all Indian banks. Out of these 14 days, seven days are the weekend holidays for all banks. The other 7 are the specific regional holidays for different states. These regional holidays include Kharchi Puja, Eid-ul-Adha, Kang/Rath Yatra, Ker Puja, Harela, Bhanu Jayanti and Beh Dienkhlam. The list of these holidays, their respective state, and dates are given above. Thus, we can conclude that the Indian banks will have holidays for 14 days. 

Also read: Effects of RBI Latest Monetary Policy


Related Article

Premium Articles